Welcome to Slindon Parish Council
Slindon is an historic village on the edge of the South Downs near Arundel in West Sussex.
The Parish Council was created under statute in 1894 and the story of the village is told through the minutes of its meetings, produced over the years since it first met in February 1895.
Bernard Keeling marked the ending of his five year tenure as clerk to the Council in September 1983 by documenting the history of the Council’s first 90 years, a copy of which can be found at the West Sussex Record Office and makes fascinating reading.
The Parish Council raises a modest sum of money each year by way of a parish precept (a small element of the council tax) which it uses to provide public facilities such as street lighting, a children’s playground, a recreation ground with adult gym equipment, notice boards and it also maintains the village pond and War Memorial.
It liaises at County and District levels to represent the interests of Slindon and with the South Downs National Park Authority on planning matters.
This image, courtesy of Mrs P Taylor of Thakeham, shows her grandfather Mr Walter Gordon Greig – centre – who lived in parish at the end of the ’40s and in the early ’50s, during which time he was active in the village amateur dramatic group, The Slindon Players.
Contact the Council